Product Review

REVIEW: Jericho Cosmetics’ Premium Pomegranate Facial Peel with Dead Sea Minerals

Jericho Cosmetics Philippines - Pomegranate Peel - Box
Jericho Cosmetics Philippines – View of the Box

 

There’s something about exfoliants that draw me in. I guess it’s because I have generally oily skin and exfoliating is an essential part of my skincare routine to minimize the grease. But I stay away from manual exfoliants because I find them irritating to the skin, causing me to breakout more than anything. As much as possible, I stick to gentle ones that are safe and filled with natural ingredients.

I’ve only ever tried three facial exfoliants: NEOGEN Bio-Peel Gauze, Cure Natural Aqua Gel, and COSRX Natural BHA Skin Returning Emulsion. These are relatively good products, especially for their price range, but I still find myself looking for something better.

I was lucky to get my hands on Jericho Cosmetic’s Pomegranate Facial Peel with Dead Sea Minerals. This is the first time I’m trying out anything from Australia – my skincare products are usually Korean, Japanese, or American. And gentle facial peels are all the rage lately, aren’t they? I’m praying this one lives up to the hype.

 

THE LABEL

Based on their website, the formula is supposed to be light and non-abrasive. It claims to have pomegranate extracts that are great for cleansing and exfoliating the skin without the scratching properties of most facial scrubs. The peel is $190 (Australian dollars), which is not a bad price for a premium product. A lot of Jericho skin care products are in this price range, as well. It may be a bit over my budget, but it’s not something that would put me off.

 

INGREDIENTS

Let’s start with the most important part. On Jericho Cosmetics’ website, there’s a complete list of ingredients:

Water (Aqua), Glycerine, Carbomer, Aloe Vera Juice, Cetrimonium Chloride, Pomegranate Extract, Bladderwrack Extract, Green Tea Extract, Dead Sea Salt (Maris Sal), Fragrance (Parfum), Phenoxyethanol, Red 4 (CI 4700), Yellow 6 (CI 15985).

Off the bat, you can see that it’s a pretty short list. Which is always a good thing – less is more. I can also tell that the majority of these ingredients are natural and non-irritating, which is a plus for exfoliants.

Another important thing is that the product claims to be cruelty-free. So far, so good.

 

HOW TO USE

Both the website and the product’s box say that I should cleanse first before using. Then, I could go ahead and apply the product onto damp skin while avoiding the general eye area. The website says to leave it on for 10 to 15 seconds and then start massaging. Jericho Cosmetics recommends you to rinse well with warm water and put on moisturizer right after.

If irritation does occur, the website says that you should wash the product off immediately and discontinue use.

 

PACKAGING

Jericho Cosmetics Philippines - Pomegranate Peel - Unboxed
Jericho Cosmetics Premium – Facial Peel Jar

Inside the box is the product and a white plastic spatula (which I forgot to take a picture of, I apologize). The packaging isn’t too impressive but it also isn’t bad. The lines are clean, which likely alludes to the purity of the product. I do like the holographic effect of the container – it adds a bit of pizzazz to an otherwise – understated packaging.

 

 

Jericho Cosmetics Philippines - Pomegranate Peel - Opened
Pretty color! Jericho Cosmetics Philippines Pomegranate Face Peel (Open)

 

The screw-on lid is easy to open and close, and presented no struggles whatsoever. Inside, the product has a protective plastic plate for sanitary and purity purposes, I suppose, and that one’s easy to pull out too.

SCENT

It does have the pomegranate scent, although it does not exactly smell like natural pomegranate – it smells sweeter. If anything, it smells a lot like candy and it makes me want to eat it, especially with that fruity orange color. The odor isn’t too strong and diffuses immediately after application.

CONSISTENCY AND APPLICATION

Jericho Cosmetics Philippines - Pomegranate Peel - My arms
Jericho Cosmetics Philippines Pomegranate Facial Peel on my skin.

The product is cold to the touch the first time around, which is great for a facial peel. The consistency is watery and, as you can see on the photo, it’s a transparent solution with a slight pinkish orange tint. It feels like an exfoliant and a soothing cream mixed into one product.

 

 

Jericho Cosmetics Philippines - Pomegranate Peel - Rubbed.png
After 15 seconds and a bit of rubbing, you will immediately see dead skin buildup.  Gross but oddly therapeutic! [Jericho Dead Sea Cosmetics Philippines’ Pomegranate Face Peel]

 

Jericho Cosmetics Philippines - Pomegranate Peel - Face.png
On the face, it’s much more satisfying to see dead skin ball up.  I was skeptical at first because the buildup could have been from the product itself but when they started to change color to a grayish shade, I knew that it took the dirt off my face, too. [Philippines – Jericho Dead Sea Cosmetics Pomegranate Face Peel]

AFTER USE

Jericho Dead Sea Cosmetics Philippines - Pomegranate Peel - After Use.png

This photo is me, right after I washed the product off my face. I didn’t put anything other than lipstick and a bit of blush but I can see that my face is a lot brighter after the peel. It also gives my face a youthful, dewy finish – my Korean skin goals were achieved. Hah!

Review of Jericho Dead Sea Cosmetics – PROS AND CONS

Pros

  • Fuss-free packaging
  • Lightweight texture
  • Natural and non-irritating ingredients
  • Easy application
  • Didn’t cause itching or breakouts

Cons

  • A bit on the pricey side
  • Has an artificial odor that might not appeal to some people


WILL YOU REPURCHASE?

Definitely. This might be my new favorite exfoliant, if I’m being completely honest.  I’m soooo happy with my Jericho Cosmetics Philippines‘ haul and I’m looking forward to trying their other products like the one I read here. Yeeeaaah!

OVERALL RATING

Are you kidding? A solid 5/5!

 

 

 

Leave a comment